Eagle Scouts Span Three Generations

One Wildwood family celebrated carrying on a valuable tradition—three times over.

Jacob Gass, a member of Boy Scout Troop 603 from , just earned his Eagle Scout designation, which is the highest advancement rank attainable in the Boy Scouts of America program. 

Having one Eagle Scout in a family is doing something special, but to have three generations of Eagle Scouts in one family is more rare. Jacob's father, Jeff, earned his Eagle Scout in 1984. Jacob's grandfather, Ramon, earned his Eagle Scout in 1946.

Eagle Scout requirements include earning at least 21 merit badges and demonstrating Scout Spirit through the Boy Scout Oath and Law, service and leadership.

The program includes an extensive service project that the Scout plans, organizes, leads, and manages. Jacob designed and coordinated the building of a modular block retaining wall for a local church for his final Eagle Scout project.

Since its introduction in 1911, the Eagle Scout rank has been earned by more than 2 million young men. The title of Eagle Scout is held for life, thus giving rise to the phrase "Once an Eagle, always an Eagle".

Statistics about Eagle Scouts from the Boys Scouts of America:

  • In 2010, 56,176 Scouts earned the rank of Eagle Scout.
  • Around 5 percent of all Boy Scouts earned the Eagle Scout rank in 2010.
  • In 2010, the average age of boys earning the Eagle Scout rank was 17 years of age.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »