Eureka, Wildwood Students Are National Merit Finalists

In the 2013 National Merit Scholarship Competition, a total of 22 Rockwood School District high school students achieved Finalist standing. The majority were from Eureka or Wildwood. See who they are.

Fifteen of the 22 Rockwood School District high school students who achieved Finalist standing in this year's National Merit Scholarship Competition were from Eureka High or Lafayette High.

The students are: 

Saba Bajwa, Lafayette
Mariel Bednarek, Lafayette
Kevin Dick, Lafayette
Savya Hingorani, Eureka
Andrew Hosna, Eureka
Derek Legenzoff, Lafayette
Alan Lu, Lafayette
Seth Ludwig, Lafayette
Brendan Marsh, Eureka
Daniel Martin, Lafayette
Kathleen Newcomer, Lafayette
Julie Sun, Lafayette
Eve Thomas, Eureka
Vivek Vallurupalli, Lafayette
David Wang, Lafayette

More than 1.5 million juniors from 22,000-plus high schools entered the 2013 National Merit Scholarship competition when they took the 2011 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT), which served as an initial screen of program entrants.

As a Finalist, students have the opportunity to earn National Merit $2,500 scholarships, corporate-sponsored Merit Scholarship awards and college-sponsored Merit Scholarship awards.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »