April Election Status for Districts

Not too many terms for elected officials of "districts" in Eureka and Wildwood are up for the April 3, 2012, ballot, but there will be changes for Rockwood School District board of education directors.

In addition to campaigns from and city candidates for next year's spring election, the election cycles for several other local entities are worth noting.

One newly appointed board of education director, , said he did file yesterday to run in the April 3 election. Rigabar is a Wildwood resident.

The term for another Rockwood board of director, Peggy Devoy, is up this spring, but she announced that she does not intend to run for another term.

Devoy was elected to the Rockwood board of education in 2006. She has been a pediatric nurse for 25 years, with the last five spent in nursing education and staff development. She said she most enjoyed working in Rockwood's curriculum development and school improvement, as well as promoting strong relationships between homes and schools. 

"From the very beginning, I never intended to serve (the district) in that capacity more than two terms, and have always been very clear about that," Devoy told Patch.

Rockwood board of education secretary Kathy Chitwood said as of Wednesday morning, two other candidates have filed for the board's two upcoming vacancies:  Victor Hieken and Sherri Rogers. Hieken resides in Ellisville, and Rogers resides in Chesterfield.

Rockwood's board of education directors conduct three-year terms once elected. The district's headquarters are located in Eureka.

To be eligible for election, a Rockwood school board candidate must be:

  • A citizen of the United States.
  • A resident taxpayer of the Rockwood district.
  • A resident of Missouri for one year preceding election of appointment.
  • At least 24 years of age.

Terms of the current board of directors for all three fire districts for Eureka and Wildwood areas — , , and — are NOT up during 2012.

Eureka Fire Protection District directors are on the following schedule:

  1. Charlie Kuhn, secretary, was just re-elected in 2011
  2. Francis "Butch" Oberkramer, chairman, 2013
  3. Dr. Patrick Federer, treasurer, 2015

Emergency responders at Eureka district's three stations protect 28,000-plus people living in an area of 82 square miles of Southwest St. Louis County and Northern Jefferson County, including Eureka and a portion of Wildwood. Eureka district firefighters cover the largest amount of geography for all of the St. Louis County fire districts.

Metro West Fire Protection District directors are on the following schedule:

  1. Tim Flora, chairman, 2013
  2. Ralph Starck, vice chairman, treasurer, 2015
  3. Mike Noonan, secretary, director, 2017

Metro West is headquartered in Wildwood. District employees also service portions of Ballwin, Chesterfield, Clarkson Valley, Castlewood, Ellisville, Sherman, Winchester, and unincorporated St. Louis County

Monarch Fire Protection District directors are on the following schedule:

  1. Kim Evans, chair, 2013
  2. Robin Harris, treasurer, 2015
  3. Steve Swyers, secretary, 2017

Monarch district firefighters and paramedics from House No. 2, at 18424 Wildhorse Creek Rd., service Wildwood residents.

Candidates have until 5 p.m. on Tuesday, Jan. 17, to file their intentions to run in the April election.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »